Caturday

Just your average catch-up posting of cat pictures and miscellaneous ramblings…

It doesn’t feel like winter, so I didn’t put up any holiday decorations this weekend. I opened all the windows and did some spring cleaning instead.  One of my favorite things about this time of year is the changing sun patches in my office.

wpid-20141114_113711-1.jpg

Winter Sun

For the first time in many years, I actually WANT it to get cold and snowy, so I can go snowboarding!

One plank, not two.

One plank, not two.

I *mostly* survived my first major holiday as an *almost* vegan. Turns out it was a buffet, so I had lots of salad and veges, but also indulged in the sweet potato mash, the regular mash, and the stuffing, which I *know* were not vegan.  I then immediately (after I could actually move again) went to a 2nd Thanksgiving dinner and although I thought I’d be arriving just when everyone finished, they were just sitting down to eat. So I drank wine instead.  After my second glass of wine the desserts came out … and I don’t think I’m probably the *only person ever* – in their early veganhood – whilst drinking – to lose a little self control and say *I don’t care if it’s not vegan!* and dive into what really was the tiniest piece of pie ever.

I’ve quit coffee AGAIN.  My stomach has been killing me so I’m back to gallons of caffeinated tea – only this time I’m trying to do it without half-n-half.  Which is one of my last big dairy product battles.

wpid-20141119_181046.jpg

Seriously?

Yup, that’s it!  And I’ve just found out (thanks to vegan FB group) that there are MANY other brands of semi-sweet chocolate chips – even Costco’s! – that are VEGAN. So, that calls for a major happy dance!  The parmesan cheese is a stepping stone….  instead of grating *mountains* of cheddar straight onto popcorn (that’s my favorite way to eat it) I’ve been mixing parm cheese about 50/50 with Nooch and sprinkling that on instead.  Really, my problem isn’t so much *what* I’m putting on popcorn, but *why* am I still eating it 3 times a week for dinner?

I’ve seriously been looking at my diet though, and I’m starting on Vitamin D supplements, because… too much work and not enough sun.

Sunshine!

Sunshine!

Or, I could just move my desk over 4′ instead 😉

Leave a Reply

