It’s been a while…

Wow. Just wow. I can’t believe I haven’t blogged since JANUARY.

There’s a good reason for that. It’s called the “busy season” in my little Tribal Belly Dance World.  This all happened (plus a few more shows I haven’t mentioned), involving rehearsals and costuming for, on average, 6 days a week for 5 months:

Vespertina Dance Project at Tribal Fest 2014, Sebastapol, CA

Vespertina Dance Project at Tribal Fest 2014, Sebastapol, CA

Obligatory Selfie before performing my Solo at the Toad Tavern in February

Obligatory Selfie before performing my Solo at the Toad Tavern in February

Obligatory Seflie before performing my Solo at a private party/hafla in March

Obligatory Seflie before performing my Solo at a private party/hafla in March

Vespertina Dance Project performing at Elevation Belly Dance Festival in Golden, CO April 2014

Vespertina Dance Project performing at Elevation Belly Dance Festival in Golden, CO April 2014

Vespertina Dance Project performing at the Instructor's Showcase at Cues and Tattoos in Seattle, WA March 2014

Vespertina Dance Project performing at the Instructor’s Showcase at Cues and Tattoos in Seattle, WA March 2014

This also happened:  VACATION. I actually took a real-life relaxing 2.5 day vacation (which HARDLY seems sufficient) on the coast of CA before TribalFest happened.  The beach soothes my soul in a way that even the cats can’t.

10178100_10100210419874403_2248837640574086658_n

There is not enough beach in my life.

Selfie on the beach, aka my Happy Place.

Selfie on the beach, aka my Happy Place.

Stinson Beach, CA

Stinson Beach, CA

Elephant Seals!  Saw whales too. Point Reyes National Seashore.

Elephant Seals! Saw whales too. Point Reyes National Seashore.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch… the cats are FINE and up to their regular shenanigans and general cuteness.

wpid-20140403_095828-1.jpg

Cats in Laundry Baskets are Cute.

wpid-20140414_170400.jpg

Tigger is still Tiggerlicious.

wpid-20140418_110626.jpg

Simba is re-distributing cat hair on my clean clothes before they are even dry.

I’ve had several epiphanies of late regarding my dance-work-life balance, which I elude to often but have never achieved.  I won’t go into details now, but suffice it to say I am currently striving to be an amateur at everything (that is, every hobby I used to have plus a few I have never tried), rather than be an expert in one thing (dance).

So, an amateur blogger I AM!

One thought on “It’s been a while…

Leave a Reply

