In Memory…

This is actually a follow up to my post Crazy Cat Lady.  In that post I tried to dispel the myth that having a blog about your cats (truth:  80% cats, 10% dance, and 10% food) makes you a crazy person.   The key to dispelling that myth is posting another blog about my awesome dogs!  Warning: you may need a tissue.

Copper & Bear

Christmas Photo attempt

Christmas Photo attempt

Seriously cute Golden Retrievers.  I adopted them when they were 2 years old, gained full custody in the divorce, and gave them the best life I could.

Backpacking Zirkell Wilderness

Backpacking Zirkell Wilderness

Copper loved to swim and to fetch balls and sticks. Bear liked hamburger. They both loved hiking and camping.

Backpacking Somewhere in Colorado

Backpacking Somewhere in Colorado, 2001

Never Summer Range

Never Summer Range, 2000

Sadly, Copper died at age 7 of cancer.  It was very sudden and very difficult for me.  The worse part of being a parent is having to make that decision to put a dog down.  That left me with Bear.

Holding on for dear life.

Holding on for dear life.

This picture was actually taken the first time I left the house after Copper died. I think it was a month.  I was smothering Bear with love so that he wouldn’t get too depressed about losing Copper.  Bear and I continued to have many adventures together for another 7 years, including driving to Alaska!

Backpacking Lost Lake, CO

Backpacking Lost Lake, CO

Vulcan Lake, OR. Road Trip!

Vulcan Lake, OR. Road Trip!

Sometimes a walk in Denver requires snowshoes.

Sometimes a walk in Denver requires snowshoes.

Formal portrait in Boulder, 2008.

Formal portrait in Boulder, 2008.

Bear died at the ripe old age of 14.  It’s so hard to take care of an aging ailing pet, but we do it because they deserve every ounce of love and compassion we can give them.  Bear passed away in June 2009.

Four Years Later

So, I finally decided, after having held on to both dogs ashes for 11 and 4 years, that it was time to let go.  I’m fortunate enough to still have some awesome girlfriends that remembered Copper and Bear and shared many of the backpacking trips together (and took some of the photos I’ve posted).

On July 21, two of my friends came hiking with me to Shelf Lake where we held a little memorial service for Bear and Copper.  We shared our fond memories and I scattered their ashes near a mountain stream.  (Although Copper loved to swim the most and Bear was actually terrified of swimming, this one was shallow so I think it’s ok).

The hike, the site, the lake, and the wildflowers were beautiful.

The stream where they rest in peace.

The stream where they rest in peace.

The site.

The site.

The view from the stream down valley.

The view from the stream down valley.

The Wildflowers!

The Wildflowers!

and more flowers...

and more flowers…

and more flowers....

and more flowers….

and more flowers...

and more flowers…

flowers...

flowers…

Flower.

Flower.

I’m so lucky to have had such a beautiful day hiking and am happy that I can always go back to this spot to visit Copper and Bear.  They will live in my heart forever ❤

Good bye, buddy!

Good bye, buddy!

Leave a Reply

