Long Overdue Update

Dance Like No One’s Watching

If you look at my performance schedule you’ll see that I’ve been either taking workshops, performing, traveling, or some combination of all three of those for about 6 weeks straight.  It has been a BLAST because this is what I love to do.  But also exhausting.

Here’s some recent pix (or you can scroll ahead where I’ll undoubtedly talk about the cats).

TribalTique Denver at the Mat Jacob Hafla, 3/2013

TribalTique Denver at the Mat Jacob Hafla in Denver, 3/2013

Kadence performing with Molly McClellan at Cues and Tattoos, Seattle

Kadence performing a duet with Molly McClellan at Cues and Tattoos, Seattle 3/2013

My class at Rachel Brice's 8 Elements:  Cultivation, April 2013

My class at Rachel Brice’s 8 Elements: Cultivation, Portland 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at the Florence Spring Spectacular, 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at the Florence Spring Spectacular, 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at Elevation, 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at Elevation, 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at Elevation, 4/2013

TribalTique Denver at Elevation, 4/2013

and finally….

Me, a little stunned.

Me, a little stunned.

and lastly,

sad feet

sad feet

After 4 days of dancing in workshops 4-7 hours a day at Elevation, I’ve developed a nasty bunion on my right foot.  Not happy about this.

How Did I Survive?

So the eating part was really rough.  I left for Seattle shortly after my detox and was worried about getting enough calories in to sustain me and also not just eating crap that would make me feel all bloated.  Needless to say this is an ongoing struggle and learning experience.  When I’m at home I eat pretty well but still have a Purium Power shake as one meal replacement, usually before I dance.  I hope to continue my journey of Eating Healthy this summer.  It is still a big priority for me.

The performances and workshops have been an emotional roller coaster.  Some of the performances did not go so great, and I’m frustrated that my standards are so high that I don’t want to post any videos.   I’m a perfectionist but dancing 100% improv with a troupe… well, you just have to learn to let go of that.  Which is hard.

The whole Cultivation experience was really emotional for me as well.  Under the lovely Ms. Rachel Brice’s teachings, I’ve pushed my boundaries, developed more confidence in taking risks, and starting thinking more about my personal dance style.  This is only tricky because I dance in a Troupe.  So I need to learn how to balance my efforts toward the troupe without sacrificing my own soul expression.

But Wait There’s More

In the midst of all this dancing (and oh yeah, I actually do have a full time job) I am now positioned to move in one month.  PACK ALL THE THINGS!

(Did I mention I’m now taking a jazz/modern class and a drumming class each once a week, in addition to my regular classes two nights a week, plus daily practice?)

But What About My Babies?

So JUST when I got they’re feeding, begging, and early morning wake-up calls all under control, that’s when the traveling started. And even though I have the best live-in cat-sitter EVER (grandma), their routine has promptly gone to shit and now they bed all the time.  Especially at 3 p.m. when I’m trying to work really hard.

(Did I mention my new apartment will have a separate office and I’m going to lock these little shitheads OUT?)

I know the next month of packing and moving is also going to be stressful on them, so I’m doing my best to be a gentle but firm Mom when it comes to the neediness.

Oh, I forgot to mention Tigger got really sick.  It was the day after I got back from Portland, which was a 10 day trip.  I was working away, and Tigger barfed. No big deal. Then he barfed again.  Well, that’s gross.  Then AGAIN.  He proceeded to puke 10 times in 6 hours.  So despite being on the verge of collapse myself from sleep deprivation, and despite the fact that there was a full on Blizzard in Denver that night, I trucked him over to the emergency clinic.  Ultrasound didn’t show any blockages, so after some fluids and anti-nausea meds (he had actually stopped barfing by this point anyway) we went home after I promised I’d rush straight back if he hurled one more time.

Fortunately he seemed fine after that, except for the shaved belly part (for the ultrasound).  Is there anything cuter or more kissable than a shaved cat belly?  I think not.

TIggerness.

TIggerness.

Simbaliscious.

Simbaliscious.

2 is better than 1.

2 is better than 1.

Union.

Union.

The Pillow.

The Pillow.

I hope this is enough cute cat pictures to get you through, because it may be awhile before my next post.

Dance Work Dance Work Pack Move.

Whenever I’m feeling overwhelmed by all this, I just:

Truth!

Truth!

ps. I’m sorry if this post is not perfect.  I thought was more important to just get something out there rather than wait for the perfect time and the perfect pictures and the wittiest writing.  Peace out friends!

Leave a Reply

