What I’m Learning about Feeding Cats: Part 1

Part 1

Future Kibble Head

Future Kibble Head

The problem:  For the last 3 years I have not slept through the night, because Simba pounces on me and occasionally chews my elbows around 4 a.m.  If I lock him out of the bedroom, he cries/meows/whines until 6 a.m., when I prefer to get up.

Early on, my vet suggested an auto feeder.  So I have one that spits out kibble at 2 a.m.   This doesn’t do anything to eliminate the 4 a.m. wake up call, but I kept it on anyway.  Because as far as I could tell, Simba was trying to tell me he was starving to death.

Which in fact he was not.  Simba is getting a little fat. I cannot feel his ribs. I know this is not healthy.  And, the begging for kibble was getting so bad that he was getting snacks all through the day.  What do they put in that stuff*, crack?

In an attempt to TAKE CONTROL OF MY LIFE/SLEEP I began to investigate more about kibble and feeding behavior.

*Science Diet Indoor Adult

One thought on “What I’m Learning about Feeding Cats: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Are you like your cat? | katbellies

Leave a Reply

